Posted on

Black Orchids

Black Orchids

Black Orchids by Ursula Vernon

 

 

This is my favorite digital painting. It is the background on computer.  I think it is absolutely beautiful.  The artist is Ursula Vernon.  I first became aware of her work many many years ago on Elfwood  http://www.elfwood.com/  a SciFi & Fantasy community.

This site is a great place for people to share their science fiction and fantasy artwork.  She has other pieces that are just as lovely.  I had lost track of her work so I googled her today out of curiosity.  She is doing just fabulous.

She has a web comic out called Digger http://www.diggercomic.com/  that has won a Hugo award.    She is also the author and illustrator of her own children’s books  her first book is titled Nurk: The Strange Surprising Adventures Of A (Somewhat) Brave Shrew  and has a series called Dragon Breath and two fantasy novels Black Dogs: The House of Diamond  and Black Dogs: The Mountain of Iron.    In doing more research on her I also found that one of her works had become an internet sensation and was turned into a meme.  A piece called The Biting Pear of Salamanca   http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/lolwut   and has made it as an entry in the Urban Dictionary  http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=lol%20wut%20pear

I haven’t had a chance to see any of the books as of yes,  but I think that is wonderful to see how far she has come.  It give hope that with perseverance and hard work what can be accomplished.  I wanted to share her work because it was something that made me smile and every time I see it….. I find new things.   I hope you will enjoy her work as well.   She is an inspiration to me.  I hope some of you will feel free to comment with artist who inspire you.  I’d love to see it.

 

About pamblah

owner/ designer Screamin' Mimi Design

Leave a Reply

